Want to put a "call home" or RAT on my laptop, phone

drbombay

I'm new at this so bear with me.

I'm looking for a Remote Admin/Access Tool that I can install on my own laptop in case it's lost of stolen. Not completely sure how RAT's work, but from what I've seen it can give me remote access to my own machine if it's stolen and connected to the internet.

I'd also like to install the same on one of my Android phones. Something that would "call home" when it connects to the internet to give me access to it and it's location.
For extra credit, can I put a PC RAT on the same phone that auto installs when the phone is plugged into a computer?

I've lost a few phones and a tablet over the years, and it just pisses me off to know someone is using my stuff. The Google device manager and other programs are kind of weak because you never really know if your device was wiped, or bricked. So i figure I'd go a different rout and try to install something that can't be bypassed, or disappears if they do a factory reset.

I know that's a lot of questions. Any help or a point in the right direction would be helpful.

Thanks

Edited by drbombay

They make LoJack for laptops and phones, but it's not free. https://lojack.absolute.com/en

If you want remote access, you could try a solution like a VPN that auto connects to your own servers with a DynDNS update on each boot, and then set it up with SSH or such to remote into them. So long as they always connect back through you on boot, then you should be able to see what IP and location it is at all times. Just need to set this up in a way that always proxies through your own server or network. For phone, not sure what people use, but if it's rooted, then same deal, SSH with VPN/proxy configured to always connect back through your network at home with a DynDNS update to keep it's IP trackable. Then if stolen, you can remote in and wipe the device(s), shut them down, or track, etc.