[VIDEO] 104 - Persistent Shell Access with AutoSSH

Darren Kitchen

Can't wait :)

Can I ask why Wifi was not added to the device tho, I am curious as this would not make it a swiss army knife of awesomeness in such a small package?

You're right - it would be a nice feature. Given the LAN Turtle is actually built on the same SoC as the WiFi Pineapple, it's absolutely possible. Right now it isn't an enabled feature due to costs and certification but if it's a requested enough feature I'm game to see what's possible. Perhaps it could lead to an out of band or side channel data exfiltration attack :)

• Upvote 2

Thanks for your reply, I totally hear you with cost and regulations etc, I was just dreaming of the possibility's the LanTurtle will open, adding wifi would be sweet. I was more thinking this tho because I am unsure how I will be able to maintain access to the Turtle if certain ports are blocked etc I may end up loosing it. I am fairly new to this as well as SSH :)

Hey Darren, quick question:

I wanted to setup my turtle with AutoSSH, but my server's ssh port is not 22 (i changed it to a different port). I was able to create an ssh tunnel using the command line from the turtle, but I can't seem to get it to work from the module itself. I tried to add my port number to the end of the host info (i.e user@serverport -p XXXX), but everytime I try to save it, it drops the port number. Any help? Thanks!

-- Jon

Hey Darren, quick question:

I wanted to setup my turtle with AutoSSH, but my server's ssh port is not 22 (i changed it to a different port). I was able to create an ssh tunnel using the command line from the turtle, but I can't seem to get it to work from the module itself. I tried to add my port number to the end of the host info (i.e user@serverport -p XXXX), but everytime I try to save it, it drops the port number. Any help? Thanks!

-- Jon

That's what remote port is for isn't' it?