What should I Learn ? Where should I start ?

JoeChip

Hello there,

It's been a while now since i'm following this community .
I'm a student at paris, i just start an IT School without really knowing what job i was going to do.

Today, After many days on this forum and Youtube watching Defcons, 44cons, i'm really sure that I want to be a pentester or a consultant in security.

But now that I know what I want to do, My first problem is my lack of knowledge.

I Don't want to buy a Wifi Pineapple, or a rubber ducky, which is surely easy to use without knowledge,with or without tuto on youtube, and be like "I have no idea what I'm doing and how it's working".

Messing around with SQL Injection and wifi cracking, bruteforcing stuff and all, wasn't enough to learn something, I was mostly like a script kiddie and I really want to change that, i have so much to learn.

I dont want to be a "kid running around with a set of point and click tools to wreck any piece of electrical equipment they come across. It's not funny, it's not clever."

So that's why I m here for, asking you guys some advice on what should I learn first.

Actually I'm learning Python, C++, and Ruby and some CCNA stuff.

Next Week I'll Have to choose between 2 option in my school, the first one is "developper sepc". the other one is "Network spec".
What do you think ? Should I choose Network knowing that developping is more likely easy to learn on internet ? or should I choose "developper" ?

I mean, I'm not expecting a straight answer , I was just wondering wich option is better for a wannabe security enginer?

So That's it,

Thanks !! Looking forward for your answers :)

Joe.

Edited by JoeChip

My advice to you would be to set up your own security/pentesting lab. Try a few things and see what interests you more.

The problem with your question is that there is no "better" one. All there is is the "better for you" one, and the only judge for that is that person you see in the mirror.