Funny Story today

newbi3

For one of my jobs I work as a sub contractor for technicians and today I was fixing up a desktop and this lady told me that she thought her hard drive was failing in her laptop becuase she couldn't turn it on. She had been dealing with this issue for a few days now and didn't know what to do... The battery was dead. That the only problem. All she had to do was charge the battery.

Anyone else got a funny IT story?

• 1 month later...

This probably shows my age...but 15 years ago I recall my assistant telling me of a help desk call he received where the user could not turn on their computer. After going through the usual diagnostics to no avail, he asked the user what happened prior to their discovering the problem. The user said that they were in the back of the building (not near the computers) for most of the morning when thunderstorms rolled in. During the storm, the power went out and everyone shuffled to the front of the building because of light from the windows (this is also where the computers were located). After about 20 minutes, the user decided that they could at least get something done while everyone was standing around. It was then that they discovered that the computer wouldn't turn on. At this point, my assistant got one of those "ah ha" moments and ask the question, "Are you still without power?" "Yes", said the user. My assistant kindly told the person that computers need power to work. DOH!! :o

• 4 weeks later...

We use a lot of web based apps. These URL's are bookmarked in their browser of choice. This worked for about 90% of our users. However, there are a select few that MUST have the shortcuts placed on their desktop. What's so funny about that you ask? Well, if the user switches computers, we will almost always get a trouble ticket saying, "I don't have access to (web based program) because it's not installed." ... ... ...*facepalm*

• 3 weeks later...