Jump to content


Photo

Uart - Hornet-ub & Other Questions


  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#1 Anton

Anton

    Hak5 Zombie

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 133 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:WiFi, Hacking, Hardware, Football, Gaming

Posted 11 June 2012 - 12:00 PM

Long Story Short, Any one in the UK looking for a cheap alternative to the ALFA Offical UART, buy a CP2102 like this, http://www.ebay.co.u...#ht_2124wt_1163
it work's


Hi Guys,

Today I ordered just about all the parts i need to start building a WiFi pineapple. The board i am using is the Hornet-UB, the only thing i still need to get is the UART adapter in order to clean flash the board. After reading a few threads here on the forum i am a little confused as to what i need to buy. The only thing i have ever flashed is a psp and new bios to my mother board, and the odd 360 drive. So i am pretty new to this, and don't really know what will work with the hornet-UB and what will not, the Hornet-UB only comes with the boot loader on it, no firmware, if this helps.

I know that buying this http://www.alfa.com....oard&Category=0 would definitely work, but i can only find these in the states, i am in the UK, Scotland, and would like to get it reasonably fast, and preferably buy it in the UK. I noticed on another thread a few people where suggesting the PL2303 USB UART, but i don't know if this even works, only one person has reported it to be working, Darren tried it but had a wiring complication so he can't confirm it. Also heard some guy's from the UK talking about this one http://www.ebay.co.u...#ht_2302wt_1341 but again i don't know if it will work or not.

I guess were i really am getting confused is, because i have the Hornet-UB, and it comes only with a boot loader and not firmware, do i need to use a COM Serial Adapter or can i use a USB one.

Any suggestions for UART's are welcome.

Another question i have is regarding 3G & the ALFA AWUS036H. From what i have read so far, would i be right in saying that i can't use 3G in conjunction with my ALFA AWUS036H for mass death as there is only 1 USB port on the Hornet-UB? could i use a usb splitter? would this effect power going to the ALFA?.

TIA, - Anton.

Edited by Anton, 12 June 2012 - 08:08 AM.

Scotland_240-animated-flag-gifs.gif

1315848720480J32.jpg"Don't look for the router, Become the router" - The WiFi Pineapple1315848720480J32.jpg

01110100 01110010 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100


#2 WatskeBart

WatskeBart

    Hak5 Zombie

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:AMS-IX

Posted 11 June 2012 - 04:04 PM

Regarding the UART. You can order this one, it will work perfectly own one myself ;) No need for RS232 to TTL fiddling while USB to TTL is available :lol:
Great things are not done by impulse, but by a series of small things brought together.

//WB

#3 Anton

Anton

    Hak5 Zombie

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 133 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:WiFi, Hacking, Hardware, Football, Gaming

Posted 11 June 2012 - 04:38 PM

Hi WatskeBart, Thanks for the link, i went a head and bought one, for 3 quid, i can't go wrong, i take it you have the Hornet-UB rather than the AP121U, and had to clean flashed it first? is the guides for flashing the boards the same regardless of weather it is a serial port or USB?

- Anton

Scotland_240-animated-flag-gifs.gif

1315848720480J32.jpg"Don't look for the router, Become the router" - The WiFi Pineapple1315848720480J32.jpg

01110100 01110010 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100


#4 BagOfNarcissism

BagOfNarcissism

    Hackling

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland

Posted 12 June 2012 - 02:54 AM

Regarding the UART. You can order this one, it will work perfectly own one myself ;) No need for RS232 to TTL fiddling while USB to TTL is available :lol:


Thats the one i used also, worked perfectly. :-)

#5 Anton

Anton

    Hak5 Zombie

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 133 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:WiFi, Hacking, Hardware, Football, Gaming

Posted 12 June 2012 - 04:00 AM

Thats the one i used also, worked perfectly. :-)


Thank's for the reply, did you use Mr-Protocol's guide to flash your hornet-ub with your usb adapter?

Scotland_240-animated-flag-gifs.gif

1315848720480J32.jpg"Don't look for the router, Become the router" - The WiFi Pineapple1315848720480J32.jpg

01110100 01110010 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100


#6 BagOfNarcissism

BagOfNarcissism

    Hackling

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland

Posted 12 June 2012 - 04:05 AM

Thank's for the reply, did you use Mr-Protocol's guide to flash your hornet-ub with your usb adapter?


Ya worked an absolute treat, Enjoy :-)

#7 WatskeBart

WatskeBart

    Hak5 Zombie

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:AMS-IX

Posted 12 June 2012 - 07:06 AM

you have the Hornet-UB rather than the AP121U, and had to clean flashed it first?


I have the Hornet-UB but mine was shipped with OpenWRT so i flashed the firmware with web interface. Though i've flashed with serial as well and works perfect ;)
Great things are not done by impulse, but by a series of small things brought together.

//WB

#8 Anton

Anton

    Hak5 Zombie

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 133 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:WiFi, Hacking, Hardware, Football, Gaming

Posted 12 June 2012 - 07:59 AM

I have the Hornet-UB but mine was shipped with OpenWRT so i flashed the firmware with web interface. Though i've flashed with serial as well and works perfect ;)


Thank's again for the reply, really appreciate the info.

I just this Clean flash (Serial) guide on the wiki, duno weather to follow this or Mr-Protocol's video, i think they will be simular, though the clean flash serial guide doesn't mention anything about putty.

- Anton.

Scotland_240-animated-flag-gifs.gif

1315848720480J32.jpg"Don't look for the router, Become the router" - The WiFi Pineapple1315848720480J32.jpg

01110100 01110010 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100


#9 Mr-Protocol

Mr-Protocol

    Hak.5 Packet Ninja

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,448 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 June 2012 - 04:21 PM

Thank's again for the reply, really appreciate the info.

I just this Clean flash (Serial) guide on the wiki, duno weather to follow this or Mr-Protocol's video, i think they will be simular, though the clean flash serial guide doesn't mention anything about putty.

- Anton.

PuTTY is just a means to communicate with the serial port.

http://cloud.wifipin...ex.php?flashing

Mr-Protocol @ irc.hak5.org #hak5
Mr-Protocol @ chat.freenode.org #hak5
 
https://wifipineapple.com/
 
Im just watching a bad dream I never wake up from. -Spike Spiegel
DerbyCon


#10 Anton

Anton

    Hak5 Zombie

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 133 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:WiFi, Hacking, Hardware, Football, Gaming

Posted 12 June 2012 - 04:25 PM

PuTTY is just a means to communicate with the serial port.

http://cloud.wifipin...ex.php?flashing


Thanks for the link Mr-Protocol.

- Anton

Scotland_240-animated-flag-gifs.gif

1315848720480J32.jpg"Don't look for the router, Become the router" - The WiFi Pineapple1315848720480J32.jpg

01110100 01110010 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100


#11 inTheDMZ

inTheDMZ

    Hak5 Zombie

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 13 June 2012 - 12:16 PM

hi,
I have a Alfa AP121u with the stock alfa firmware, i have searched the forums but can't seem to find if this firmware needs a serial flash or not?

if i telnet in (using user/pass: root/80546334) and issue uname -a i get "Linux ALFA 2.6.31--LSDK-9.2.0_U10.1020 #2 Tue Apr 3 15:00:06 CST 2012 mips GNU/Linux"
and if i log into the web interface i get alfa login (see attached picture)
Attached File  alfa1.png   138.66KB   30 downloads
my question is: Can i just scp my upgrade.bin over the /tmp/ and sysupgrade -v -n //tmp/upgrade.bin? or do i need a serial flash.

I have tried to access via serial using two different usb-uart cables and double checking all the connections, settings etc and i get nothing in putty.

#12 Mr-Protocol

Mr-Protocol

    Hak.5 Packet Ninja

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,448 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 June 2012 - 12:21 PM

hi,
I have a Alfa AP121u with the stock alfa firmware, i have searched the forums but can't seem to find if this firmware needs a serial flash or not?

if i telnet in (using user/pass: root/80546334) and issue uname -a i get "Linux ALFA 2.6.31--LSDK-9.2.0_U10.1020 #2 Tue Apr 3 15:00:06 CST 2012 mips GNU/Linux"
and if i log into the web interface i get alfa login (see attached picture)
Attached File  alfa1.png   138.66KB   30 downloads
my question is: Can i just scp my upgrade.bin over the /tmp/ and sysupgrade -v -n //tmp/upgrade.bin? or do i need a serial flash.

I have tried to access via serial using two different usb-uart cables and double checking all the connections, settings etc and i get nothing in putty.

The AP121U has OpenWRT already on it. SCP the upgrade.bin and away you go.

Mr-Protocol @ irc.hak5.org #hak5
Mr-Protocol @ chat.freenode.org #hak5
 
https://wifipineapple.com/
 
Im just watching a bad dream I never wake up from. -Spike Spiegel
DerbyCon


#13 inTheDMZ

inTheDMZ

    Hak5 Zombie

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 13 June 2012 - 12:30 PM

I can only get telnet access, does that matter?

#14 Mr-Protocol

Mr-Protocol

    Hak.5 Packet Ninja

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,448 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 June 2012 - 12:32 PM

I can only get telnet access, does that matter?

I can't remember if running passwd will enable ssh, or if you have to start dropbear manually

Edit: I think you can just use the built in web upgrade of OpenWRT and use upgrade.bin

Mr-Protocol @ irc.hak5.org #hak5
Mr-Protocol @ chat.freenode.org #hak5
 
https://wifipineapple.com/
 
Im just watching a bad dream I never wake up from. -Spike Spiegel
DerbyCon


#15 inTheDMZ

inTheDMZ

    Hak5 Zombie

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 14 June 2012 - 02:06 PM

I don't what i am doing wrong, i enabled ssh in the web interface as /etc/init.d/dropbear start does not work, then once i had ssh access i couldn't use scp to transfer upgrade.bin, and i could not install scp support as ipkg is 'not found'.

I started a apache2 instance with upgrade.bin, and managed to use wget within the routers shell to get upgrade.bin into the /tmp/ folder, then i issued sysupgrade -n -v /tmp/upgrade.bin and the returned -sh: sysupgrade not found.

I can't get anything on the serial cable, i have tried 2, both are verified working with the router on these forums. double and triple checked my settings and still nothing, anyone else had this problem?

here is exactly what i get in the shell when i try to sysupgrade:

sysupgrade -n -v /tmp/upgrade.bin
-sh: sysupgrade: not found

Edited by inTheDMZ, 14 June 2012 - 02:54 PM.


#16 Sebkinne

Sebkinne

    WiFi Pineapple Developer

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,206 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 June 2012 - 03:08 PM

I don't what i am doing wrong, i enabled ssh in the web interface as /etc/init.d/dropbear start does not work, then once i had ssh access i couldn't use scp to transfer upgrade.bin, and i could not install scp support as ipkg is 'not found'.

I started a apache2 instance with upgrade.bin, and managed to use wget within the routers shell to get upgrade.bin into the /tmp/ folder, then i issued sysupgrade -n -v /tmp/upgrade.bin and the returned -sh: sysupgrade not found.

I can't get anything on the serial cable, i have tried 2, both are verified working with the router on these forums. double and triple checked my settings and still nothing, anyone else had this problem?

here is exactly what i get in the shell when i try to sysupgrade:

sysupgrade -n -v /tmp/upgrade.bin
-sh: sysupgrade: not found


My guess is that you are not running OpenWRT to do the sysupgrade.

#17 inTheDMZ

inTheDMZ

    Hak5 Zombie

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 14 June 2012 - 03:10 PM

its the stock alfa firmware, but i get nothing from the serial cable, i will try again from the serial and see if i can get anything.

#18 Anton

Anton

    Hak5 Zombie

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 133 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:WiFi, Hacking, Hardware, Football, Gaming

Posted 14 June 2012 - 03:23 PM

its the stock alfa firmware, but i get nothing from the serial cable, i will try again from the serial and see if i can get anything.


What serial adapter are you using? did you make sure it was compatible with the pineapple before you bought it?

- Anton

Scotland_240-animated-flag-gifs.gif

1315848720480J32.jpg"Don't look for the router, Become the router" - The WiFi Pineapple1315848720480J32.jpg

01110100 01110010 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100


#19 inTheDMZ

inTheDMZ

    Hak5 Zombie

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 14 June 2012 - 03:36 PM

I have two, one which was linked in a thread from ebay, and one that was a freebee from jpgottech, who have previously tested it on the AP121u. still nothing on serial, i can't understand it!

Attached File  alfa3.png   200.2KB   32 downloads

#20 Anton

Anton

    Hak5 Zombie

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 133 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:WiFi, Hacking, Hardware, Football, Gaming

Posted 14 June 2012 - 03:43 PM

I have two, one which was linked in a thread from ebay, and one that was a freebee from jpgottech, who have previously tested it on the AP121u. still nothing on serial, i can't understand it!

Attached File  alfa3.png   200.2KB   32 downloads


Hmm really have no clue, maybe try flashing it on another OS? could be somthing to do with linux.

- Anton

Scotland_240-animated-flag-gifs.gif

1315848720480J32.jpg"Don't look for the router, Become the router" - The WiFi Pineapple1315848720480J32.jpg

01110100 01110010 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100 01101111 01101100





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users