Linux Distro Help

MaddawgTL

I need a bit of help, I'm not only going to school at ITT Tech but now working here and need some help with building up what software tools I need. Looking for a linux distro that is easy to learn, offers tool that would be useful in imaging hard drives and be a good all purpose repair platform. Tried the latest ubuntu but it will not display on my toshiba laptop so that may be a factor also. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

If by software tools you mean, tools that will help you get most technical problems resolved, then I would recommend to look into Hiren's Boot CD. It has a large collection of tools you can possible imagine, but all aimed at repairing/fixing computer issues.

Now if you need a Linux OS to learn, look into Linux Mint.

• 2 months later...
  • 3 months later...

I've been running Mint exclusively on my laptop for about nine months and have been loving it. It is/was an Ubuntu/Debian derivative (so it uses .deb packages). If you have multiple machines or are willing to dual/tripple boot, I would suggest having both a Mint and Fedora install to play with. Fedora uses .rpm packages, being a RedHat derivative.

Hiren's is great; I'm fine with the current version of it, but there are those that say you should have a copy of of Hiren's from before version 11 (10.8?) and a copy of the current version. It used to be more greyware, but has gone fully legit since version 11.

... and here are some other tools to look at

Repair/Rescue: UBCD / UBCD4Win / SystemRescueCD / TrinityRescueKit / RecoveryIsPossible

Imaging/Cloning: Clonezilla / Gparted / Parted Magic / Fog