Business Networking

Hi all, i have a quick question:

do most company's hire a IT guy, or employ a IT company?

i ask because i cant imagine all company's knowing how to hire a proper IT. so i would assume that they would employ a IT company. my dad has a small business, and he hired a guy with his own business to set up his network. but of course a small company more than likely wont be hiring a IT full time.

thanks!

Can do either or depending on the companies needs.

If it's a small programing company (say, 12 people), there might be a 'generic IT person' floating about, to do all the stuff the developers don't want and aren't been paid to do (call customer service to replace hardware, install operating systems, ensure every thing is backed up etc.).

I've been working for an IT company for two years as a full time contracted worker. But I do occasionally, provide on site support for a small owned company whenever they need me, they are consisted of 6 employees and has a very small network infrastructure with a Windows 2008 server DC.

• 2 weeks later...

There is no most.

They do emplor network guys, they do contract them out. Really it doesn't matter for you.

Umm, want more?

Networking has so many levels, kind of like helping someone to burn a CD or helping them to build a computer to do a specific job and then join a domain. All simple, but some takes more time. Then you have the stuff that makes you think, and pushes you.

Learn, get qualifies. Go for job... NEXT!

• 2 weeks later...

At least in the Midwest, seems like there are a ton of temp contract and contract-to-hire jobs out there. I was about to be laid off and luckily found a new permanent job before I was set to be cut loose, but I still get at least five emails a week from different staffing agents that find me on Dice or CareerBuilder with contract opportunities.

I just got transferred from my 2 years help desk job to an engineering position. So I am gonna love it.

• 4 weeks later...