New To Wifipineapple, What To Do With Alpha Wifi Dongle

i just got the pineapple mark 3 pro bundle and it came with a alpha wifi dongle. i was just wondering why i would need this if my computer already had a wifi chip. i know this is most likely a stupid question but i am brand new to this stuff. thanks for the help.

That wifi adaptor has a chipset that will allow you to change the mode, such as managed, moniter mode etc. This allows attacks such as deauth which means disconnecting a specific client from a specific access point, or even all clients from all access points, this will improve the number of clients on your pineapple as they get kicked from their access points. You should look at the aircrack-ng packages, and their website- it provides good documentation on the tools and how to use them. The alfa wireless cards are high powered and high range, they support wireless injection and are almost the 'industry standard' for any kind of wireless based attacks.

i am trying to do a deauth attack just for fun and when i plug in the adapter and run the aircrack command (sudo airmon-ng) to find the chipset it doesnt find any. what do i have to do to get the computer to recognize it?

do a iwconfig to see what adapters are available wlan0 should be the internal command

so "ifconfig wlan1 up" should bring it up.

Posted · Hidden by lufthansa747, July 6, 2012 - No reason given
Hidden by lufthansa747, July 6, 2012 - No reason given

do a iwconfig to see what adapters are available wlan0 should be the internal command

when i type iwconfig i get 2 lines. one is l0 and eth0 both say no wireless extension? i should be pluged into the poe lan port on the pineapple right?

the adapter i am using is Alfa AWUS036NHA. when i type iwconfig i get 2 lines. one line is lo and the other is eth0. both say no wireless extension. what does that mean?