Awus Not Picked Up By Bt 5

Pwnd2Pwnr

Here we go... showing off the noob tan...

I am not sure what kind of attention this will grab; for there is a lot of "tutorials" and "how to's" for BT... in fact... too much. I was looking for my answer for a few days now... and still not sure what I am doing wrong.

Problem: Ubuntu detects my awus036h; awus036h won't get detected through Oracle VB BT5. I added a so called "USB 2.0 extension" for the damned thing; nothing. VirtualBox won't even detect that my awus is up from the main screen. I've iwconfig'd, ifconfig'd, ifdmyself in the face. Every tutorial shows instantaneous connection with the thing... ay caramba...

I have done my homework and teacher sent it home to "try again"... keep in mind I am new to Linux and probably am just missing a huge step... probably.

UPDATE: Just downloaded VMware and it works right off rip. How do I uninstall VirtualBox VIA command line?

Edited by Pwnd2Pwnr

Honestly, I would stick with Vmware and skip vbox for now. They make a free player that should get you up and running with BT and you can just download and plop in the premade VM from the BT site, but on the configuration for vbox side, go into the settings, and make sure its connecting all USB devices and passing them to the VM upon plugging any of them into a USB drive to show up or pass directly to the VM, or its basically only going to show up on the host system. Quick way to tell, see if when plugged in, do a dmesg in the VM before and after the card is plugged in. If nothing changes, then the host system actually has access to the card and is not releasing it. If so, then its not being passed over to the VM, or the VM is misconfigured. If you do a dmesg before and after its plugged in, and the results at the bottom are different in the bt terminal, you should see something, if anything, including an error upon plugging in a usb device.