Pineapple Wifi Crash/reboot On Mass Data

glennlopez

Im a noob, but I want to learn. My problem is that when ever someone decides to watch a youtube video or my pineapple starts getting mass data it just crashes/re-boots its self.

I bought the Elite version on the Hak5 store incase you are wondering what I have hooked up to it. Does anyone know why this is happening?

i suspect its something to do with data storage, again im a complete noob so the best guess i have is my USB settings.

my usb config is:

config global automount

option from_fstab 1

option anon_mount 1

config global autoswap

option from_fstab 1

option anon_swap 1

config mount

option target /usb

option device /dev/sda1

option fstype ext4

option options rw,sync

option enabled 1

option enabled_fsck 0

config swap

option device /dev/sda1

option enabled 1

Edited by glennlopez

• 5 months later...

I have experienced the same issue. I am unable to pinpoint it as the logs tell nothing (logwatch -f). It happenst of the blue, or when I open the urlsnarf log (in pineapple web gui with a big file), or when I start sslstrip (I was never able to run sslstrip for more then an hour without a restart!!!). I plan to try the following:

1. reflash 2.8.0

2. run urlsnarf until restart (take note of avg time - I do not believe that there will be issues with urlsnarf)

3. run sslstrip until restart (take note of avg time)

The only thing I have noticed is that sslstrip does not close any of the connections to the server it connects to.... so I am thinking.... Last time I checked I noticed that I had > 30 connections opened.

If anyone has any ideea please comment.

Pineapple MK4, 2.8.0

That is the case. After one day of running urlsnarf with no issues (everyone in the house was connected to the pineapple), I did a nmap scan, and it immediately restarted. So at least now I know that it does not do well under stress.